

## Joint Statement by the Members of the European Parliament on the continuous prosecution by the Russian Authorities of Alexei Navalny

**Brussels, 18 February 2022** - "We are closely following another politically motivated trial of Alexei Navalny, which started earlier this week. We find it absurd that Mr Navalny, the founder of the Anti-Corruption Foundation, whose life mission is to expose corruption at various levels of the Russian government, and who has been subjected to unjustified prosecution and imprisonment for this work, is being accused of fraud.

We deplore any attempts to prolong Mr Navalny's imprisonment, especially as his prison sentence is politically motivated and in total disregard of the European Court of Human Rights' indication of 16 February 2021 to release Mr Navalny on the grounds of risk to his life.

We reiterate the European Parliament's repeated call for Mr Navalny's immediate and unconditional release. The European Parliament has recognized Mr Navalny's struggle for human rights and fundamental freedoms in Russia by awarding him the 2021 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, and holds the Russian authorities and President Putin personally as the head of the Russian state responsible for any harm to Mr Navalny during his unlawful imprisonment."

Petras Auštrevičius, Renew Europe, Lithuania Viola von Cramon-Taubadel, Greens/EFA, Germany Pascal Durand, Renew Europe, France Luis Garicano, Renew Europe, Spain Nathalie Loiseau, Renew Europe, France Sandro Gozi, Renew Europe, France Olivier Chastel, Renew Europe, Belgium Moritz Körner, Renew Europe, Germany Juozas Olekas, S&D, Lithuania Andrzej Witold Halicki, EPP, Poland Antonio López-Istúriz White, EPP, Spain Jerzy Buzek, EPP, Poland Radan Kanev, EPP, Bulgaria Dacian Ciolos, Renew Europe, Romania Milan Zver, EPP, Slovenia Othmar Karas, EPP, Austria Ondřej Kovařík, Renew Europe, Czechia Sergey Lagodinsky, Greens/EFA, Germany Anna Júlia Donáth, Renew Europe, Hungary

Róża Thun und Hohenstein, Renew Europe, Poland

Rasa Juknevičienė, EPP, Lithuania

Leopoldo López Gil, EPP, Spain

Riho Terras, EPP, Estonia

Domènec Ruiz Devesa, S&D, Spain

Andrey Kovatchev, EPP, Bulgaria

Eugen Tomac, EPP, Romania

Malik Azmani, Renew Europe, The Netherlands

Andrius Kubilius, EPP, Lithuania

Karin Karlsbro, Renew Europe, Sweden

Dragos Tudorache, Renew Europe, Romania

Nicolae Ștefănuță, Renew Europe, Romania

Michael Gahler, EPP, Germany

Danuta Maria Hübner, EPP, Poland

Radosław Sikorski, EPP, Poland

Bernard Guetta, Renew Europe, France

Javier Nart, Renew Europe, Spain

Nicola Beer, Renew Europe, Germany

Michaela Šojdrová, EPP, Czechia

Maite Pagazaurtundúa, Renew Europe, Spain

Ramona-Victoria Strugariu, Renew Europe, Romania

Michal Šimečka, Renew Europe, Slovakia

Michal Wiezik, Renew Europe, Slovakia

Lucia Ďuriš Nicholsonová, Renew Europe, Slovakia

Martin Hojsík, Renew Europe, Slovakia

Jan-Christoph Oetjen, Renew Europe, Germany

Tomasz Frankowski, EPP, Poland

Alexander Alexandrov Yordanov, EPP, Bulgaria

Ivars Ijabs, Renew Europe, Latvia

Attila Ara-Kovács, S&D, Hungary

Miriam Lexmann, EPP, Slovakia

Vlad Gheorghe, Renew Europe, Romania

Aušra Maldeikienė, EPP, Lithuania

Peter van Dalen, EPP, The Netherlands

Daniel Freund, Greens/EFA, Germany

David Lega, EPP, Sweden

Liudas Mažylis, EPP, Lithuania

Traian Băsescu, EPP, Romania

Erik Marquardt, Greens/EFA, Germany

Siegfried Mureșan, EPP, Romania

Bart Groothuis, Renew Europe, The Netherlands

Abir Al-Sahlani, Renew Europe, Sweden

Emma Wiesner, Renew Europe, Sweden

Sara Skyttedal, EPP, Sweden

Vlad Nistor, EPP, Romania

Petri Sarvamaa, EPP, Finland

Salima Yenbou, Greens/EFA, France